MINUTES OF SECAC MEETING

16 May 2019

Meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM at the Kent County Middle School media center

Attendees: Danielle Cudone, Annette Walls, Linda Porter, Melissa Mann, Amanda Richardson, Betsy Skinner & Mr. Skinner, Nancy Martin, Wendy Keen, Elizabeth Proffitt, Ken Smith, Joe Goetz, Dan Hushion

Refreshments & Introductions

The meeting was called to order by KCPS Special Education Supervisor Wendy Keen, who welcomed participants.

Presentation of the annual Special Education Recognition Awards

Nancy Martin read nominations and presented Special Education Recognition Awards to:

- Linda Porter (nominated by Melissa Mann)
- Amanda Richardson (nominated by Francoise Sullivan)
- Betsy Skinner (nominated by Erin Hopwood)
- Annette Walls (nominated by Elizabeth Proffitt)

Election of Officers

Wendy Keen announced that Mandy Worth had declined to serve as SECAC Co-chair for another term due to other commitments, and Elizabeth Proffitt had agreed to continue as Chair. There being no other nominations from the floor, Elizabeth Proffit was elected as Kent County SECAC Chair for the 2019-2020 school year.

Program:

The meeting concluded with Wendy Keen presenting updates on the current status of special education, including

- a review of new Technical Assistance Bulletins from MSDE on Secondary Transition and Improving Outcomes for Students with Disabilities-Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment
- changes to the Maryland Guidance for IEP Teams on Participation Decisions for the Alternate Assessments
- an activity reviewing what Special Education IS and IS NOT
- an overview of new bills passed by the Maryland House & Senate in the 2019 legislative session related to special education services

This was followed by questions, answers & discussion.

Respectfully submitted, Nancy Martin Acting Secretary, Kent SECAC